About the GPU COE at the University of Utah
The University of Utah was awarded an NVIDIA GPU Center of Excellence in 2008. The University of Utah is using GPU technology to make significant advances in a number of scientific applications, including seismic data processing and visualization, MRI and diffusion tensor image reconstruction, cardiac electrical wave propagation simulation, combustion and fluid dynamics simulation, and several projects in large-scale scientific visualization.  In addition, CUDA technology is being used extensively across three faculties: Scientific Computing and Imaging (SCI) Institute, The School of Computing and Center for the Simulation of Accidental Fires and Explosions (C-SAFE).

About Scientific Computing and Imaging (SCI) Institute
The SCI Institute has established itself as an internationally recognized leader in visualization, scientific computing, and image analysis. The overarching research objective of the SCI Institute is to create new scientific computing techniques, tools, and systems that enable solutions to important problems in biomedicine, science, and engineering. For more information: http://www.sci.utah.edu/.

About the School of Computing
The School of Computing has a long history of distinguished faculty and alumni who have made substantial contributions to research and industry. For more information: www.cs.utah.edu/school/history. The GPU Center will play a key role in the School's new Digital Media Initiative linking Computing with Fine Art and Film and funded by the USTAR Initiative.

About the Center for the Simulation of Accidental Fires and Explosions (C-SAFE)
As one of the Department of Energy’s five Advanced Simulation and Computing (ASC) centers, Utah runs detailed simulations of high energy devices and hydro-carbon fires, designed to increase the safety of dangerous material transportation and storage. 

About the PIs
Chuck Hansen is a Professor of Computer Science and an Associate Director of the Scientific Computing and Imaging Institute at the University of Utah. Chuck Hansen has published over 100 peer reviewed journal and conference papers and has been a co-author on three papers recognized with "Best Paper Awards'' at the IEEE Visualization Conference (1998, 2001, 2002). He was co-author on the Best Paper at IEEE Pacific Visualization 2010. He was awarded the IEEE Technical Committee on Visualization and Graphics "Technical Achievement Award" in 2005 in recognition of seminal work on tools for understanding large-scale scientific data sets.

Chris Johnson directs the Scientific Computing and Imaging (SCI) Institute at the University of Utah where he is a Distinguished Professor of Computer Science and holds faculty appointments in the Departments of Physics and Bioengineering. His research interests are in the areas of scientific computing and scientific visualization. Dr. Johnson founded the SCI research group in 1992, which has since grown to become the SCI Institute employing over 155 faculty, staff and students. Professor Johnson serves on several international journal editorial boards, as well as on advisory boards to several national and international research centers. Professor Johnson was awarded a Young Investigator's (FIRST) Award from the NIH in 1992, the NSF National Young Investigator (NYI) Award in 1994, and the NSF Presidential Faculty Fellow (PFF) award from President Clinton in 1995. In 1996 he received a DOE Computational Science Award and in 1997 received the Par Excellence Award from the University of Utah Alumni Association and the Presidential Teaching Scholar Award.  In 1999, Professor Johnson was awarded the Governor's Medal for Science and Technology from Governor Michael Leavitt.  In 2003 he received the Distinguished Professor Award from the University of Utah.  In 2004 he was elected a Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering, 2005 he was elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, in 2009 he was elected a Fellow of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) and received the Utah Cyber Pioneer Award.  In 2010 Professor Johnson received the Rosenblatt Award from the University of Utah.